Composer and songwriter Jonathan Russ is dedicated to exploring the space between contemporary classical music, indie rock, and musical theater. His music has been heard at such diverse venues as Joe’s Pub, Barrington Stage Company, the Triad Theater, Manhattan School of Music, and the Juilliard School.

Jonathan is currently Composer-In-Residence with the American Chamber Ensemble, for whom he has written a number of pieces including a sonata for clarinetist Stanley Drucker. He was recently selected to participate in The Boston Conservatory’s Choral Composers’ Workshop with his piece Follies, and is the 2014 winner of the MA-ASTA Composition Competition for his piece for viola and piano House. Jonathan will be participating in the New Music On The Point Festival, Cortona Sessions, soundSCAPE Festival, and Atlantic Music Festival this summer. Upcoming projects include an indie rock EP and an opera about a young man who never leaves his room.

As a guitarist, Jonathan has performed in theater pits and rock clubs throughout New York and New England. He is a member of the folk-rock group Lucky Sons.

A Long Island native, Jonathan holds a BA from Brown University in music and international relations and an MFA from NYU’s Tisch School of the Arts in musical theater writing. He has studied composition privately with Dalit Warshaw and is currently studying with Andy Vores at The Boston Conservatory, where he is pursuing a master’s in composition. He is a member of the Dramatists’ Guild.

Professional CV

© Jonathan Russ 2014